News/News Detail

Easier visa rules underway for Asians into Taiwan


Starting June 1, Taiwan's (ROC) Ministry of Foreign Affairs (MOFA) will further relax visa rules for nationals from South and South-east Asia, under its New Southbound Policy, to attract more visitors for tourism and business.

Changes include the extension of a visa exemption trial programme for nationals of Thailand and Brunei to July 31, 2018. Since it was introduced on August 1, 2016, the numbers of visitors from Thailand and Brunei have increased 57.3 and 52 per cent respectively. And in the first two months of this year alone, the number of Thai visitors surged 91.8 per cent.

A visa exemption trial for Philippine nationals will also be introduced for a year.

In addition, the eligibility criteria for online visa applications will be eased for nationals from Cambodia, India, Indonesia, Laos, Myanmar and Vietnam.

Those who have been issued with an ROC visa (labour visas excluded) over the last 10 years and who have no record of violating ROC law may apply for a multiple-entry visa using the Online Application for ROC (Taiwan) Travel Authorization Certificate run by the National Immigration Agency.

Citizens of Sri Lanka and Bhutan will also become eligible for tourist visas.

As well, businesspeople from Bangladesh, Bhutan, India, Nepal, Pakistan and Sri Lanka can apply for an eVisa to Taiwan at the recommendation of local offices of the Taiwan External Trade Development Council.

Original Article:

Read more news